![]() |
| Holy Rehd Sawx, Rahbin! |
Ben Affleck. Batman.
Now I'll be honest - when I first saw this, I died a little inside. My mind instantly starting playing back scene after awful scene from Daredevil, Affleck's previous attempt at bringing a comic book superhero to life, and I couldn't stop myself from asking, "Why, Warner Bros.? Whyyyyyyyyyy?" I'd had conversations with friends at work and even my siblings and girlfriend about where the DC movie universe was headed with Zach Snyder's take on Superman getting the proverbial ball rolling, and it was no surprise that there were rumors flying about new blood who would play the protector of Gotham. Granted, there was an oddball or two on the list ("Hey, girl...I'm Batman."), but the short list had some pretty solid contenders. Not two days later Latino Review published an article that led to rumors about Christian Bale reprising his role as The Dark Knight, leading to so much more discussion and controversy for some, and for others, hope.
Then this bomb dropped.
I woke up this morning to posts like this:
Now I'll be honest - when I first saw this, I died a little inside. My mind instantly starting playing back scene after awful scene from Daredevil, Affleck's previous attempt at bringing a comic book superhero to life, and I couldn't stop myself from asking, "Why, Warner Bros.? Whyyyyyyyyyy?" I'd had conversations with friends at work and even my siblings and girlfriend about where the DC movie universe was headed with Zach Snyder's take on Superman getting the proverbial ball rolling, and it was no surprise that there were rumors flying about new blood who would play the protector of Gotham. Granted, there was an oddball or two on the list ("Hey, girl...I'm Batman."), but the short list had some pretty solid contenders. Not two days later Latino Review published an article that led to rumors about Christian Bale reprising his role as The Dark Knight, leading to so much more discussion and controversy for some, and for others, hope.
Then this bomb dropped.
I woke up this morning to posts like this:
| A true fan. |
| Leather fitting: check. |
| And Robin Williams as Alfred, yes. |
| Well, at least there's honesty here. |
The top trending topic on Twitter this morning was #BetterBatmanThanBenAffleck. Needless to say, it's been a fairly vocal day in Social Media Land.
Once the initial shock wore off, I got to work and started reading my friends' posts and started doing something in my head that I never thought I would do in a million years - I started defending the studio's choice.
I know this isn't the most popular stance on the topic, so I would like to address the major gripes and concerns one by one in the hopes that you might understand where I'm coming from. I'll paraphrase for time and conciseness:
- "He did a terrible job playing Daredevil. He's obviously not cut out to play a superhero." - This is the primary concern most people have about Affleck taking the role. Yes, I saw that movie, and yes, I know it was unbelievably terrible, but we as common patrons of the cinema quite easily forget one vital fact about movie performances whenever we get worked up over a work or character we care about: it's all scripted (well, mostly). Daredevil, in all its buffoonery, was written poorly. There was a script, a screenplay, storyboards; it was all put together that way ON PURPOSE. Even the dedicated actor committed to the role can't bring back a bad film from poor writing (see Ian Ziering in Sharknado). If it's the action scenes you're worried about, look at his buddy Matt Damon in The Bourne Identity and then try to find a movie Damon did before that gave you an inkling of confidence that he could do that kind of role. Get the right trainer and the right choreographer, and you'll have memorable fight scenes.
- "Actors shouldn't play more than one superhero." - To dispute the specific claim above, I'll say this: Deadpool in X-Men Origins: Wolverine was awful, just plain AWFUL. Now I'll attribute that to bad writing, too, as Ryan Reynolds has the necessary attitude to play the Merc With The Mouth, but the graphics and writing just didn't lend themselves to a noteworthy performance. So whether or not his foray into the DC universe was good, his previous Marvel attempt wasn't much better.
Now, as far as the general statement - ladies and gentlemen, I give you Chris Evans, the Human Torch for whom no one carries a flame in Fantastic Four and the super soldier that doesn't stop soldiering as Captain America: The First Avenger. Chew on that for a minute. - "There are so many other better choices to play Batman." - I partially agree with this point. I will acknowledge that there are many good choices to step into the Bat-shoes, and Affleck wasn't on my short list (or anyone else's that I could see), but that doesn't make him a bad choice. For you who maintain that Bale should have reprised his role, remember that even if the rumor of the $50 million offer is true, he turned it down. His desire to complete an amazing project and leave it undisturbed to be great in its own right is completely respectable and a noble decision, and I believe it's in the best interest on the pending Justice League franchise as well. Ben Affleck is a good enough actor to nail down the part of Bruce Wayne with enough time, and while the actor will always interpret the character, there is enough time and influence (i.e., Kevin Smith) to help him mold his Batman. Many will liken him to George Clooney in Batman and Robin based on his current status and his point in his career, but remember that Joel Schumacher's last stab at the franchise had everyone not caring who got the role of Batman in the reboot, and most people probably weren't thinking that the man best paired with Huey Lewis and an ax would be a rock-solid pick.
- "Ben Affleck is a bad actor and I just don't like him." - Yes, we've all seen or at least heard of Gigli, Pearl Harbor, the aforementioned Daredevil, and Paycheck (and yes, I know there are way more to add to this list), but try this list instead: Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Good Will Hunting, Armageddon, and especially The Town and Argo. Yes, we all know that Affleck has been in bad movies, but that's just it - they were bad movies. He has picked quite a few bad projects in the past, but so have many great actors. He's spent the better part of almost two decades trying to atone for the duds he's been in, and he's honestly done a pretty bang-up job of it. Now as far as you just not liking him...well, tough nuggets.
Face it, he's not our first pick, our second pick, our third...shoot, even our tenth pick. Puzzling? Yes. Unexpected? Absolutely. Shocking? Damn right. Bad?...well, that remains to be proven.
(And before anyone even gets started comparing this situation with Heath Ledger (may God rest him) playing the Joker, this situation, while similar, is different because Ledger was being remembered at the time for his acting ability in Brokeback Mountain and his carefree spirit in 10 Things I Hate About You, not another superhero he previously played.)
How do you feel about this? Let me know in the comments below!

No comments:
Post a Comment